Upcoming Events

TBA

Paul Chesler (Harvard University)
Raleigh N.C.
Date: Tuesday, October 21, 2014 - 3:30pm

TBA

Duke Physics Colloquium
Eun-Suk Seo (Univ of MD, College Park)
Physics 128
Date: Wednesday, October 22, 2014 - 3:30pm

"Recent Discoveries of Cosmic Ray Anomalies"

Duke Physics Colloquium
Arthur Kosowsky (University of Pittsburgh)
Physics 128
Date: Wednesday, October 29, 2014 - 3:30pm

We live in a universe whose properties are remarkably well described by a very early epoch of accelerating expansion, termed inflation. One generic prediction of inflation is a relic background of stochastic gravitational radiation. These tensor metric perturbations leave a distinctive imprint in the polarization of the microwave background. In March 2014, the BICEP experiment at the South Pole announced the detection of this signal for the first time, although subsequent analysis cast doubt on whether polarized emission from dust in the Milky Way galaxy might be contaminating the signal.

TBA

Triangle Nuclear Theory Colloquium
Yuri Kovchegov (Ohio State University)
Raleigh N.C.
Date: Tuesday, November 18, 2014 - 3:30pm

TBA

Duke Physics Colloquium
Jamie Bock (Caltech)
Physics 128
Date: Wednesday, November 19, 2014 - 3:30pm

Title and abstract forthcoming. Faculty host: Prof. Emeritus Horst Meyer. Refreshments will be served before and after the event in room 128.

TBA

Triangle Nuclear Theory Colloquium
Albino Perego (Darmstadt University)
Raleigh N.C.
Date: Thursday, November 20, 2014 - 3:30pm

TBA

Duke Teaching Observatory
Duke Teaching Observatory
Date: Friday, November 21, 2014 - 6:00pm

Observe the sky through modern 10" telescopes, guided
by Duke physicists. Everyone welcome. Weather dependent

TBA

Triangle Nuclear Theory Colloquium
Alfred Shapere (University of Kentucky)
Raleigh N.C.
Date: Tuesday, November 25, 2014 - 3:30pm

TBA

TBA

Triangle Nuclear Theory Colloquium
Elena Litvinova (Western Michigan University)
Chapel Hill N.C.
Date: Tuesday, December 2, 2014 - 3:30pm

TBA

TBA

Triangle Nuclear Theory Colloquium
Mikhail Shifman (University of Minnesota)
Raleigh N.C.
Date: Thursday, December 4, 2014 - 3:30pm

TBA

TBA

Triangle Nuclear Theory Colloquium
Christina Markert (University of Texas Austin)
Physics 298
Date: Tuesday, December 9, 2014 - 3:30pm

TBA

TBA
TBD
Date: Tuesday, March 31, 2015 - 3:30pm

TBA.